As part of our collaboration with Art Bridges, HRM Museum Educator Bridget McCormick, HRM Kress Interpretive Fellow Christian Stegall, and Yonkers-based spoken word artist Marcus John developed and facilitated a series of gallery experiences and workshops based on the four loaned paintings in Art and Identity.
Natalia Villota Montoya is one of twelve HRM Junior Docents who recently participated in a photography workshop organized with the Cooperstown Graduate Program and the Dyckman Farmhouse Museum in Inwood. Selections of their work are featured in Food for Thought: Teen Perspectives on Scarcity and Abundance, on view at the Museum through September 15. Read about Natalia’s experience with the workshop.
Yesterday, we had the pleasure of celebrating our fruitful partnership with Yonkers Public Schools Museum School 25 at an exhibition of student work at the school.
The Homelands exhibitions, which were presented throughout the 1930s and 40s, showcased the decorative arts and crafts of Ukrainian, Czechoslovakian, Assyrian, Armenian, Italian, Finnish, Polish, Scandinavian, and Chinese residents of Westchester County.
The HRM Presents Two Exhibitions This Summer that Explore Social Justice Issues and Equity in Representation
The Hudson River Museum is continuing a year of Centennial celebrations with the presentation of two special exhibitions, along with a roster of dynamic public programs, that celebrate diversity, community, and social justice issues. These exhibitions and programs demonstrate the Museum’s ongoing commitment to making our offerings more inclusive and representative of the communities we serve.
James B. Colgate, who had an estate in Yonkers just south of Glenview and commuted to Wall Street, owned William Hahn’s Union Square. His daughter, Mary, who lived on Ravine Avenue when the Museum moved to Glenview, donated this painting in November 1925.
When mankind landed on the moon 50 years ago, we reached the pinnacle of more than a decade-long journey in the race to space. While we at the HRM, may not have made it to the moon, the Museum has reached new heights! BBC World News interviewed Manager of Planetarium and Science Programs Marc Taylor and featured the exhibition “A Century of Lunar Photography and Beyond” in a segment that aired on March 11.
By the time the Museum moved to Glenview in April 1924, it owned some 2,500 minerals, fossils, and relics, as well as works of fine art—acquired through the leadership and, in many cases, the personal generosity of Edwin C. Mott. The Museum continued to acquire key pieces even before its doors opened in December of that year.