Border Cantos | Sonic Border Related Programs

When

Friday, February 12–May 9, 2021

Admission

The HRM is working with local, national, and international partners to offer a robust roster of programs and resources for the public related to Border Cantos | Sonic Border: Richard Misrach | Guillermo Galindo. Additional programs to be announced.

The Teaching Artist-in-Residence for Border Cantos | Sonic Border is Erika Harrsch. Learn more about the Residency Program here.

To complement the exhibition, Yonkers Public Library staff curated a list of books—both fiction and nonfiction, for youth and adults—that explore migration, immigration, and the refugee experience at the US-Mexico border, within the United States, and globally. Explore their list here.

Español ↗

 

Border Cantos | Sonic Border Virtual Exhibition Reception for Members
Friday, February 19, 7–8pm

Collaborators in Conversation: Richard Misrach and Guillermo Galindo (Virtual)
Sunday, February 21, 2pm

Virtual Panel Discussion: Living Language and Identity
Saturday, February 27, 2pm

Today’s Mexican Art Scene: Virtual Studio Visit with Raul de Nieves
Wednesday, March 3, 7pm

Virtual Artist Talk with Erika Harrsch
Saturday, March 6, 2pm

Virtual Curator Tour of Border Cantos | Sonic Border
Sunday, March 7, 1:30pm

Virtual Panel Discussion: Bridging the Wall
Saturday, March 13, 2pm

(For Members) In-Person Tour of Border Cantos | Sonic Border
Sunday, March 14, 11am–12pm

Guillermo Galindo in Performance (Virtual)
Saturday, March 20, 6pm

Virtual Family Studio Art Workshop: Migrant Butterflies
Saturday, March 20, 1:30pm
Friday, April 2, 2pm

Virtual 3-Tree Art Workshop with Erika Harrsch
Sunday, March 21, 2pm

Today’s Mexican Art Scene: Virtual Studio Visit with Andrea Arroyo
Wednesday, March 24, 7pm

(For Members) In-Person Tour of Border Cantos | Sonic Border (Spanish and English)
Saturday, March 27, 11am–12pm

Virtual Author Talk with Valeria Luiselli
Wednesday, March 31, 7pm

A Mexican State of Mind: Migrant Creatives in NYC
Saturday, April 3, 2pm

Today’s Mexican Art Scene: Virtual Studio Visit with Javier Marín
Wednesday, April 7, 7pm

(For Members) In-Person Tour of Border Cantos | Sonic Border
Thursday, April 8, 5–6pm

Working with Our Migrant Communities: A Virtual Roundtable
Wednesday, April 14, 7pm

Virtual Teen Talk: Crossing Boundaries
Saturday, April 17, 1:30pm

Migration at the Southern Border: Law, Policy, Myth, and More (Virtual)
Sunday, April 18, 2pm

Virtual Tour of Border Cantos | Sonic Border
Wednesday, April 21, 1:30pm

United States of North America Passport: Installation and Live Performance
Saturday, April 24, 12:30–4:30pm
Saturday, May 8, 12:30–4:30pm

Migration and Hope: A Virtual Panel Discussion of the Documentary Nómadas
Sunday, April 25, 2pm

Family Studio Art Workshop at the HRM: Personal Passport
Sunday, April 25, 1–3:30pm
Saturday, May 1, 1–3:30pm

The Migrant Experience: Stories and Support (Virtual)
Sunday, May 2, 2pm

Mariachi for Mother’s Day
Sunday, May 9, 3pm

 

Support provided by Art Bridges.